Subscribe | Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
Terry McAdam Book Award

What is the most inspirational and useful new book contributing to nonprofit management?

Each year, the Alliance’s Terry McAdam Book Award Committee reviews books published in the nonprofit sector, highlights the very best thinking in management, governance, and capacity building, and helps expose practitioners to new knowledge and approaches in the field.

To be eligible for the award, books must meet the following criteria:

Specifically address issues of nonprofit management, capacity building, management consulting, or advancement of the 501(c)(3) nonprofit sector.

Be a first edition published in 2016 or 2017. For a book published in 2016 to be eligible, this must be its first nomination (i.e., the book could not have been nominated last year).

Must be actively marketed to the national nonprofit community or a specific nonprofit community.

Academic textbooks, books authored by Alliance Board members and books authored by Terry McAdam Book Award Committee members are not eligible and will not be considered.

Be available in print, electronic, and/or PDF form.

Must have a price point (i.e., be available for purchase, not a free publication).

The nomination window for the 2017 Award is now closed. Thank you to all those who submitted their favorite book! If you have any questions, please contact this year’s chair, Victoria Thurlow at

The Terry McAdam Book Award process is coordinated and overseen by a committee composed of Alliance members, who are responsible for setting the strategic direction for the award program, in consultation with the Alliance’s board of directors.

The committee uses stringent nominating and eligibility criteria to select and review works for consideration, and to determine the annual Terry McAdam Book Award winner. If warranted, an additional honorable-mention recipient/other finalist may also be named. Committee members may be invited to take on additional roles on behalf of the committee, and are encouraged to attend the Alliance’s annual conference to support activities associated with the award ceremony and author liais

2017 Committee

Thank you to the dedicated volunteers serving on the 2017 committee. Their expertise ensures the highest-quality selection process and award recipient.

Victoria Thurlow, Chair

Carolyn Champ
Associate Executive Director
Support Center

Luci Dabney
Executive Director
Program to Aid Citizen Enterprise

Gayle L. Gifford, Chair, Publisher Outreach
Cause & Effect, Inc.

Terry Horton
Project Director
National Network of Consultants to Grantmakers

Mary Bear Hughes
Senior Consultant
Georgia Center for Nonprofits

Sawida Kamara, Chair, Nominations
Project Management and Research Consultant
Maryland Nonprofits

Bob Lazzarini
Master of Arts in Nonprofit Management Program, Antioch University

Lynne A. Molnar
Molnar Consulting

Patty Oertel, Consultant to the Committee
The Oertel Group

Kevin Peterson, Committee Administrator
Dorothy A. Johnson Center for Philanthropy

Tamela A. Spicer
Program Manager
Dorothy A. Johnson Center for Philanthropy

Vega Subramaniam
Cofounder and Principal
Vega Mala Consulting




If you are interested in participating in the 2018 committee, please contact this year’s chair, Victoria Thurlow at

A 30-Year Legacy

Terry McAdamThe Terry McAdam Book Award program was established by the Nonprofit Management Association in 1987 to commemorate the work of an inspirational colleague and board member, Terry W. McAdam, who passed away at the age of 44 in 1986. The executive vice president and program director of the Conrad N. Hilton Foundation in Los Angeles, Terry was also the author of Careers in the Nonprofit Sector (1986) and (with Judith Scherer) Technical Assistance in New York City: A Preliminary Examination of the Nonprofit Technical Assistance Process in New York City (1977). He devoted his professional life to improving the nonprofit management field and urged those of us in the capacity-building field to write about our experiences, because he considered our voices important in improving the sector.

When the Nonprofit Management Association and the Support Centers of America came together to form the Alliance for Nonprofit Management in 1998, the Alliance took responsibility for continuing this important award. For 30 years, many dedicated volunteers have shepherded the award program, which has evolved to include both print and electronic books that cover the nonprofit sector and aspects of nonprofit management and capacity building.