Subscribe | Print Page | Sign In | Join
News: Alliance News

Announcing the Terry McAdam Book Award Winner: The Goldilocks Challenge

Wednesday, October 3, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Anne Yurasek
Share |

The Alliance for Nonprofit Management is pleased to announce the winner of the 2018 Terry McAdam Book Award: The Goldilocks Challenge: Right-Fit Evidence for the Social Sector, by Mary Kay Gugerty and Dean Karlan (Oxford University Press, 2018).
Now in its 30th year, the Alliance's Terry McAdam Book Award Committee reviews books published in the nonprofit sector; highlights the very best thinking in management, governance, and capacity building; and helps expose practitioners to new knowledge and approaches in the field. This year, after reviewing 21 nonprofit capacity-building books published in 2017 or 2018, the committee determined that The Goldilocks Challenge best exemplified the spirit of the award: research-to-practice principles; relevance to the whole nonprofit sector; persuasive reasoning; and readability.
From the Committee:  The Goldilocks Challenge is about measuring impact. Measuring impact: we all want to do it, know we have to do it...and are all too often frustrated by one-size-fits-all expectations of how to do it, expectations based on large nonprofits that represent so few of the organizations that most of us work with. The Goldilocks Challenge offers a solution: an impact measurement framework that helps organizations decide what elements they should monitor and measure. This framework is based on four principles, called the CART principles: Credible data; Actionable data; Responsible data; and Transportable data. Dive in to learn more about the CART principles and how you can immediately begin using them with the organizations you work with.

About the Authors
Mary Kay Gugerty is the Nancy Bell Evans Professor of Nonprofit Management at the Daniel J. Evans School of Public Policy & Governance at the University of Washington and the Faculty Director of the Nancy Bell Evans Center on Nonprofits and Philanthropy. Her research focuses on evaluation and impact measurement in the social sector; advocacy, accountability and voluntary regulation programs among nonprofits and NGOs; and agricultural and rural development in sub-Saharan Africa.
Dean Karlan is the Frederic Esser Nemmers Distinguished Professor of Economics and Finance at Northwestern University's Kellogg School of Management and Co-Director of the Buffett Institute's Global Poverty Research Lab. His research focuses on evaluation of efforts to reduce poverty around the world. He is the Founder of Innovations for Poverty Action and President and Co-Founder of ImpactMatters. He is also on the Executive Committee of the Board of Directors of the Abdul Latif Jameel Poverty Action Lab.

About the Terry McAdam Book Award
The Terry McAdam Book Award program was established by the Nonprofit Management Association in 1987 to commemorate the work of an inspirational colleague and board member, Terry W. McAdam, who passed away at the age of 44 in 1986. McAdam devoted his life to improving the nonprofit management field. Himself an author, he also urged his peers to strengthen the sector by sharing their knowledge in print. 

The 2018 Terry McAdam Book Award will be presented at the 2018 Capacity Builders Conference during our 20th Anniversary Celebration Dinner on Thursday, October 11th. Please join us to honor and promote amazing contributions to the knowledge and practice of effective nonprofit capacity building.  Mary Kay Gugerty will be presenting to conference attendees on Friday, October 12th.